Marissa Ponich

Name:  Marissa PonichMarissa 3
CAN Fund  #150Women Recipient
  Pun-ich (I love puns)
Hometown:  Edmonton, AB 
Sport: Fencing

Best Result: 
3rd place in the 2017 Pan American Championships, 1st place in 2018 Nationals, Team Bronze in the 2019 Pan Am Games

On the National Team Since (Year):  2013

How many hours do you workout/train/compete on average each day and how many days per week?
 I train 3 to 4 hours per day, 6 days per week (I also work a full time job)

How does being a CAN Fund #150Women recipient make a difference for you
I am too old to be considered for developmental carding as I started fencing at the age of 19 (which is much later than most) and I started international competition at the age of 25. Despite consistently being ranked first or second in Canada, I receive no funding and rely on my full-time job, crowdfunding, and sponsorship to help fund my Olympic journey. This funding helps me to travel and compete as a part of Canada and do what I love! 

In two sentences or less, what does it mean to be supported by women?
One of the things I enjoy the most from sport, is that I am surrounded by other strong and inspiring women. To be supported by other women through the CAN Fund #150Women fund is empowering for me and allows me to feel connected to other women, growing the community.

Biggest lesson you have learned to get to where you are today?
To learn and grow from failures or mistakes to become stronger and better.

How did you get involved in your sport?
My husband introduced me to the sport when we first met. If it weren’t for him, I wouldn’t be where I am today!

Instagram: @mponichfencer
Facebook Page: